What’s in Your Makeup Arsenal?

I have a cosmetic drawer full of carefully organized baskets of every beauty product imaginable. And while I still am not faithful to any one mascara, the only one I’ve completely avoided to date is the one with the vibrating brush. Um, who wants something that could potentially already poke your eye out, vibrating in its proximity??!!

But despite my being seduced by the flashy packaging, and my obsession with trying all the latest colors and amazing breakthrough products, there are a few items in my makeup arsenal that I remain faithful to.

Burts Bees Beeswax and Banana Hand Crème. Not always the easiest product to find, I was pretty sure I was going to have to start paying exorbitant shipping prices so I would never be without this coveted hand creme. Luckily, a newly opened organic farmer’s market (Henry’s) carries it. I keep one at home, one in my office, and during the winter months one in my purse. It is a delightful rich, emollient creme with the most luscious banana fragrance. Co-workers often walk by my office exclaiming “I smell bananas!”  I am also rarely, if not ever, without a lip balm. Also from the land of Burt’s Bees, I can more often than not be found slathering on a healthy coat of sun protection to my lips.

I am not at all about perfumes – they make me sneeze!! I am, however, quite the fan of a lovely scent. I’m not at all opposed to mixing oils into my own perfect blend. Call me a 12-year old, but I do LOVE Body Fantasies fragrance body spray in Cotton Candy. I had a woman stop what she was doing on the street, ask me where I got whatever it was I was wearing, and proceed directly to her local CVS to get some for herself.

Now I know that not only trends, but lip colors will come and go. Companies will retire even the most favorite colors to bring in a new one. The L’Oreal HIP line is not that old, maybe a couple of years, and with its vibrant color scheme, not at all for the masses, it could disappear as fast as it was introduced. But I implore you L’Oreal, please do not take away my favorite L’Oreal Shine Struck Liquid Lip Color in “Arrested”. It is a fantastic fuchsia that I will be forced to stock up in war supplies should I catch wind that it is being retired. I may be the only one too, because due to its blue undertone, it likely only compliments my fair complexion.

For that perfect cheek, I have been a fan for years of Tarte cheek stain in “Flush”. In fact, I’ve been using the same tube daily for at least 5 years. It gives your cheeks that “Grandma just pinched me” look.

I tend to keep my daily makeup routine rather simple with a sweep of black liner on my top lid only, and go for a more dramatic thicker liner all over my eyes in the evenings in either black or blue (80’sesque maybe, but the blue tends to make my brown eyes pop). I’m a fan of Prestige waterproof liner. It can be purchased at your local drugstore or online for typically less than $5.00

And for the smokiest of eyes, ABSOLUTELY NOTHING compares to Eyes Lips and Face Brightening Eye Color in “Drama” – Um, it’s like a $1.00 per palette. ONE DOLLAR!! I have introduced this to my makeup artist friends who also agree, it is incomparable.

And, at the end of the day, you have to take it all off. Not taking off your makeup, it has been said, can add 8 hours to your face…calculate that over the length of a lifetime. I’ve tried everything over the years, but I quite like the convenience of the cleansing towelettes and find that the CVS equivalent is just as rewarding as its expensive counterparts.

What’s in your makeup bag?

Leave a Reply

