The Dishes are Done Man!

A dear, old friend of mine recently updated her Facebook status to: “Let the record show that the great Fishwasher experiment of 2011 is about to begin. I’ll report back once the salmon is out of the rinse cycle.”

While I typically like to participate in her threads, I had no idea what she was talking about. She seemed a little upset that not too many people chimed in… undoubtedly because they had no idea what she was talking about either.

Her follow up update was “It’s official: salmon cooked in the dishwasher, complete with dishes and soap, is not only delicious but a boon for the lazy person (e.g., me.).” My curiosity now peaked, I Googled “Dishwasher Salmon” and found not only numerous recipes, but YouTube videos and the like describing just how one would cook salmon in a dishwasher. Well, I’m sure I have a load of dishes that need washing, and I’m sure I need to make dinner … 1 + 1 = dishwasher salmon.

I quickly whipped up a recipe of my own and some sauces to compliment the dish…washer…dish.

Salmon en Papillote

4 6-ounce salmon fillets
4 tbsp freshly squeezed lime juice
4 tbsp white wine
Salt and Pepper to taste
Cilantro (chopped)
Mint (chopped)
Parchment Paper
Aluminum foil

Layer 4 sheets of foil with parchment paper
Grease the inside of the parchment paper with olive oil.
Pour 1 tablespoon lime juice mixed with 1 tbsp of white wine over each fillet.
Season with salt and pepper.
Garnish with cilantro and mint
Fold and pinch the aluminum foil extra tightly to create a watertight seal around each fillets.
Place foil packets on the top rack of the dishwasher.
Run dishwasher for the entire wash and dry cycle.
When cycle is complete, take out salmon, discard foil.

Serve with Curried Yogurt Sauce:
1 cup plain yogurt
2 tsp curry powder
¼ tsp cayenne pepper
1 glove garlic (minced)
OR
Serve with Cucumber Yogurt Sauce:
1 cup plain yogurt
1 cup cucumber (thinly sliced)
2 tbsp fresh dill
salt to taste

I actually served it with both the curry sauce and the cucumber sauce. The fish itself was perfectly cooked and the dishes were done. Fin / Win !

Be sure to check out my dear friend Amy Rogers Nazarov’s blog over at www.wordkitchen.net.  She’s a delight and so is her cooking.

Leave a Reply

