Kumquats a Plenty

We have a delightful kumquat tree in the backyard. While I’ve seen kumquat trees, I never really knew what to do with them…they’re tiny oranges, sort of, so how could you possibly peel and enjoy them? Apparently you don’t – it’s customary to gobble up the whole thing rind and all. Yeah, I dunno, I’m still a little gun shy, so I thought I’d try to figure out a way to use them in a different way.

I grabbed about 2 dozen off the tree and then snipped some mint from my garden. I muddled those in a pitcher till they were thoroughly blended, then added 2 cups of fresh orange juice, a pint of perrier I had on hand, 1 3/4 cups of rum, and a few sliced key limes.

It was delightfully refreshing.

…and then, I whipped up a floral display with another bunch of kumquats and some seasonal daffodils.

Leave a Reply

