Oatmeal Cookies

Whilst in home economics back in the day we were given an assignment to alter a recipe. While no specifics were given as to how to alter a recipe, we were instructed that merely adding chocolate chips would not suffice.

It was a take home assignment and it was well before you could just pop on the internet and add ingredients to a search engine yielding a myriad of possibilities. I also learned at an early age to work with the ingredients I had. So I searched around our well-equipped kitchen…both my grandmother and my mother liked to bake, so we had all the necessities. But how was I going to alter a recipe? That’s when I found the carton of Quaker Oats. There was a recipe right on the label. I scanned it over and came up with my altered recipe. By simply substituting some of the ingredients I could make it my own.

My recipe has evolved over the years to include wheat flour instead of white, raw sugar over white, and coconut oil instead of the previously popular shortening. And, the “substituted” ingredient contained all the extra spices I needed.

1 cup firmly packed Brown Sugar
1/2 cup raw sugar
3 cups (or 6 packets) of apple & cinnamon instant oatmeal (the magic substitute ingredient)
1 tsp salt
1/2 tsp Baking Soda
3/4 coconut oil
1 egg
1/4 water
1 tsp vanilla

Preheat oven to 350. Combine dry ingredients & set aside. Mix together coconut oil, sugars, egg, water and vanilla until creamy. Combine the dry ingredients with the wet ingredients and mix well. Drop by rounded teaspoonfuls onto greased cookie sheet. Bake at 350 for 12 to 15 minutes.

I got an “A” on that assignment…and I got cookies!

Leave a Reply

