Reindeer Poop

It’s that time of year when I come 45 seconds away from permanent carpal tunnel syndrome as I set out to make copious amounts of a holiday treat I’ve lovingly named “Reindeer Poop”.

The tradition started about a decade ago when I was short on cash but still wanted to have holiday gifts for my co-workers and neighbors. I remembered my mom making a yearly assortment of cookies for friends and family but it always seemed like a lot of work for a small bounty.  I also remembered that as a kid I babysat for family that gave me a mason jar full of “bullseyes” one year for Christmas. They were delectable peanut butter covered chocolate balls. I’m sure I ate the whole jar in one sitting. I thought – “Holy Hell those were delicious … I should make those”. I found various recipes that I quickly altered to fit the following parameters: A) Easy B) No Bake and C) Yields War Supplies.

While mine aren’t nearly as “pretty” as the original bulleyes (in part because I make gazillions of them at a time moving as quickly as humanly possible) they were aptly named “Reindeer Poop” to account for their appearance, and I figured the kids would “eat that up” (no pun intended).

Reindeer Poop Recipe

1 40oz Jar of Creamy Peanut Butter
1 Box Confectioners Sugar
1 Can Sweetened Condensed Milk
4 bags Semi-Sweet Chocolate Chips

Mix the peanut butter, confectioners sugar and sweetened condensed milk in large mixing bowl with hands. Roll into small balls. Melt chocolate in double boiler and cover peanut butter balls. Let cure in fridge or freezer.  Distribute to the masses.

I always make a little label “From Janelle’s Kitchen” (that nearly every year has that guilty looking reindeer image on it) and I’ve been known to use Chinese takeout boxes with holiday themed ribbon, but this year found cupcake boxes at orientaltrading.com to fit the bill.  And while I usually start getting orders for them around Easter, they are strictly a one-time-of-year process for me.  People throughout the office halls are already thanking me as well as cursing me and I haven’t even distributed them yet this year.

One thought on “Reindeer Poop

  1. Pingback: Merry Christmas! | Confessions of a Former Pre-Teen Oyster Shucker

Leave a Reply

