No Rest for the Wicked

An old friend of mine recently commented that she would love to spend a day as me. That got me to thinking about my day-to-day and how utterly exhausting it is to be me at times. Don’t get me wrong, my Los Angeles life is rad – it’s full of excitement at every turn – I never really know where I’m going to end up on any given day. And that’s the thought process that led me to review this past week alone. Keep in mind, I have a full time job and not EVERY week is like this, but this one was heavy with commitments and fun and has left me feeling a bit like “I’ll sleep when I’m dead”.

Sunday – 2/19/2012

Recover from 9 days of bronchitis to meet an old friend from high school and her family in Beverly Hills for dinner at “The Farm”.  This included 5 teenagers who had already done a drive-by of Justin Beiber’s house – No – I don’t know Justin Beiber – stop asking – but I do see a lot of other celebs on a daily basis so I’ve included some of those below.

Monday – 2/20/2012

Didn’t realize I had the day off from work or I would have gone to a taping of the “Ellen Degeneres Show” with my out of town friends. But it was best that it worked out that way because A) Taylor Swift was on Ellen that day, and I’ve already seen her live on Ellen (unfortunately) and B) it was the boyfriend’s birthday so we spent a leisurely day dining out around town and catching a movie – “Rampart”.  We particularly wanted to see this film because my boyfriend worked on it.  I got to meet Woody Harrelson, Ben Foster and Robin Penn at the wrap party.

Tuesday – 2/21/2012

Dinner at Wolfgang Puck’s “Spago” in Beverly Hills. THAT was a life changing meal.

Wednesday – 2/22/2012

Comedy night at Sardos followed by karaoke (dammit, Kyle Gass was NOT there this particular night singing karaoke)

Thursday – 2/23/2012

Lunch in the Warner Bros. dining room (celebrity sightings – Luke Wilson, Tim Meadows and Saul Rubinek (Lee Donowitz from “True Romance”)

Dinner at Hollywood hotspot – Katsuya where they greeted me with “Welcome back Janelle it’s always nice to see family.” (Dinner celebrity sighting – Krysten Ritter from “Breaking Bad”)

Friday 2/24/2012

“Two and a Half Men” Taping (celebrity sightings – Ashton Kutcher, Jon Cryer, Angus T. Jones, Holland Taylor, Courtney Thorne-Smith, Georgia Engel).  We also got to tour the set and meet the cast.   We followed that up with dinner at the “Smokehouse” (a restaurant George Clooney loves so much he named his production company after it) (celebrity sightings Kathy Bates and Christopher McDonald).

My Friend Alex and Angus T. Jones on the set of Two and a Half Men

Saturday 2/25/2012

Brunch at Mo’s in Burbank including various actor friends to school a newbie on the ways of being an actor in Los Angeles.  (celebrity sighting Brandon “Superman” Routh)

Dinner at Skys Tacos – arguably the best tacos in Los Angeles – followed by a live local theater production of “Point Break Live”.   If you’re in the Los Angeles area – “Point Break Live” is about the best $20 you’ll ever spend.

**It should be noted that the week included various last minute “costume changes” (I like to call them) because you’re never appropriately dressed for everything you go to.

 

Leave a Reply

