Cuz I Eats Me Spinach

Mondays are a glass half full/half empty sort of scenario in my opinion – they can be looked at as the beginning of a fresh new week, or the anti-climactic ending to a nice weekend. I, like so many others, am not a huge fan of Mondays but, more particularly, I hate cooking on Monday nights.  I mean I went to work all day – haven’t I done enough?!  However, scouring Pinterest I stumbled across a recipe for Spinach Burgers (original recipe found HERE) and it seemed easy enough for a Monday night.  I had to make slight edits to the original recipe because I didn’t have all the ingredients on hand and came up with my own…

Spinach Cakes

1 bag of frozen chopped spinach (thawed and well drained)
2 eggs
1 tbsp olive oil
1/4 c diced onion
1/4 c sundried tomatoes
3/4 c parmesan bread crumbs
1 tsp red pepper flakes
1 tsp salt
1 tsp pepper

1 tsp minced garlic

Combine all ingredients.  Form into patties.  You can cook them following the original recipe through the link above, but I cooked mine on my Forman Grill – oh yeah, I have one of those – and they came out perfect.  I served them as a side to turkey burgers with ginger dressing and a grape tomato and cucumber salad.

Leave a Reply

