Thrill of the Thrift – Hookers

I found this gem at a yard sale in Miami around 2002. I paid $10 for it. Despite its name and subject matter – “Hookers” – it had a child like quality to it.  My research revealed that the artist, James Rizzi, came up with the idea of 3D multiples by creating an etching, printing it twice, hand coloring it and mounting parts of the print on top of the other.

It’s like a serigraph or a lithograph – it’s signed by the Artist and it was a limited edition with the artist producing only 300 of them.  The only one I was able to find sold for about $700.  I need to eventually re-frame it as the matte has some water damage – which I imagine contributed to why I scored it for $10.  James Rizzi passed away in 2011, leaving me to wonder how much it’s worth now?

Leave a Reply

